Exploring Love Languages
February 11, 2022
Ariella Jacobs

Regardless of how long you’ve been in a relationship, you are always looking for ways to better connect with your partner. But with the relationship advice all over the internet, it can be hard to set your mind on just one thing. With that said you have probably heard of the wonders of love languages but might not know what it’s all about. Fortunately, it’s not as intense as it may seem.

In simple terms, love languages are just the way in which you or your partner would like to receive love. So think of it like giving your partner a cheat sheet to loving you. You see knowing them helps remove typical relationship issues like miscommunication and growing apart. It is said that knowing your partner’s love language can bring you closer as a couple and connect on another level. So similar to your 5 senses there are 5 different love languages. This includes acts of service, quality time, words of affirmation, gifts, and physical touch. Each love language has its own specific purpose and explanation on how to perform it.

Getty Images/DigitalVision/Thomas Barwick

You know how actions speak louder than words? Well, that’s practically what acts of service mean. When it comes to acts of service, your partner values it when you go out of your way to make their life a bit easier. It could even be something small like taking the garbage out or making them a cup of coffee before you leave for work. Quality time means just that, spending time with your loved one. All they want is for you to make them feel special. Words of affirmation aren’t as complicated as they may read. Someone with this love language simply wants verbal acknowledgment such as “I adore you”. Now you may think that gifts are an expensive love language but it doesn’t have to be. It’s not all about the value of the gift by its symbolism. Physical touch is straightforward. It includes any sort of physical affection such as kissing, cuddling, and holding hands.

You may also like